Attack Plan

One of the most simple and enjoyable things in life is work.  A lot of people detest it, but I think if you learn to take pride in your work and do a good job, almost any job  (not every job) can become a positive experience.  Yeah, there are always morons for co-workers.  However, if you focus more on your own job and try to drown out the idiots, I’ve found it helps quite a bit.  Unfortunately, there are still people who are so off the charts with stupid that there’s nothing that can be done…

So, in my march to get what I hope to be a good job that I can enjoy upon my return to Vermont, I have 6 weeks to hash out and execute an aggressive attack plan for the Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) portion of the CPA exam.  What does this have to do with work you may ask?  Well, since I have been out of the accounting field for more than 7 years, a good performance on this exam will demonstrate my seriousness to any potential employer.

Here’s the scoop:  I’m currently using Roger CPA Review, online, to study.  Using his textbook, I’m hoping to finish the entire FAR portion by the time I leave Japan on April 1st.

Here’s what I’m planning:

February 13: Property, Plant and Equipment.

February 14:  Intangibles

February 15: Bonds and Present Value Tables

February 16:  Review all material until February 16

February 17: Accounting for Leases

February 18: Liabilities

February 20: Receivables

February 21: Review all material until February 21

February 22:  Pensions & Postemployment Benefits

February 23: Stockholder’s Equity

February 24: Partnerships

February 26: Review all material until February 26

February 27: Reporting the Results of Operations and IFRS Financial Statements

February 28: Accounting Changes and Error Corrections

February 29 (woo-hoo! leap year!): Accounting for Income Taxes

March 1: Review all material until March 1

March 2: Interim Financial Reporting

March 3: Segment Reporting

March 5: Installment Sales and Cost Recovery

March 6: Review all material until March 6

March 7: Long-Term Construction Contracts

March 8: Personal Financial Statements

March 9: Statement of Cash Flows

March 10:  Review all material until March 10

March 12: Earnings Per Share

March 13: Financial Statement Analysis

March 14: Foreign Operations

March 15: Review all material until March 15

March 16: Inflation Accounting

March 17: Governmental Accounting (my arch-nemesis, absolutely hated this class in college…)

March 19: Governmental Accounting

March 20: Governmental Accounting (it’s a long chapter…)

March 21: Business Combinations and Consolidations

March 22: Nonprofit Accounting

March 23: Review all material until March 23

March 24-April 1st:  Review all material

Finished!

This is a tall order that will surely test my sanity, especially as I get busier with moving.  I should be able to make it though, since I will have 8+ hours a day to study.  My plan is to study for about 4 hours in the morning, go to the gym for lunch break to wake up a bit, steam in the sauna after my work out and then return for another 4 or 5 hours of studying in the afternoon.  A nice side benefit to this is I can finally, hopefully, maybe, get into shape, too!

I’m pretty confident I can plow through a unit a day, but if I get bogged down somewhere along the line, I’ve got an extra week to work with.  If I can complete everything with this timeline, I will have almost a month of non-stop review before actually sitting down to take the exam.

I’ve just received an e-mail saying I’m clear to schedule my testing dates, and I think I’m going to shoot for late April for the FAR section, and then mid-to-late-May for the Business Environment and Concepts (BEC) section.

If I find during this regiment that I have time to tackle some BEC material, I’ll give it a go.  It will certainly be nice to have a change of scenery.

Working hard isn’t easy, but working hard for a goal is a simple and very satisfying task-once you take some headache medicine…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

