Lardy Cake

This has to be the most unhealthy thing I have ever made, and I’ve made some pretty bad things.

The ingredient list is very simple, almost deceptively simple:

bread flour

yeast

salt

lard

sugar

raisins

That’s it.  I used this recipe: The Fabulous Baker Brothers’ Lardy Cake

These guys are pretty good.  They’re a couple of brothers in the U.K. that love baking and cooking, which I can dig.  Their vids are on youtube if you’d like to check them out.

Back to the cake: yes, that’s correct, this thing has 500g of lard in it.  If that wasn’t enough, it also has 500g of sugar in it.  It’s on its second rise right now and should be out and done in about 3 hours.

Why would I make such a monstrosity you ask?  Well, for one, just because it isn’t healthy doesn’t mean it’s not delicious.  Also, I’ll try anything once out of curiosity.  Finally, it’s not like I’m going to eat it all.  I’ll be bringing most of it to a dinner party with a friend tomorrow and I’ll let them try their luck with lard.

One of these days, I’d like to get my cholesterol measured after eating a nice healthy dose of this treat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

